Half-Life Games In Order

Half-Life Games In Order

Are you a fan of the iconic Half-Life series but feeling a bit lost in its chronology? Look no further! In this comprehensive guide, we’ll walk you through the Half-Life games in order, from the groundbreaking original to the latest installments. Strap in as we journey through the captivating world of Gordon Freeman and the enigmatic Black Mesa.

1. Half-Life (1998)

Half-Life (1998)

The journey begins with the game that started it all: Half-Life. Released in 1998 by Valve Corporation, this first-person shooter (FPS) revolutionized the gaming industry with its immersive storytelling and advanced gameplay mechanics. Players assume the role of Gordon Freeman, a silent protagonist thrust into a research facility overrun by otherworldly creatures after a catastrophic experiment gone wrong.

2. Half-Life: Opposing Force (1999)

Expanding on the events of the original game, Half-Life: Opposing Force puts players in the boots of Corporal Adrian Shephard, a soldier sent to contain the alien invasion at Black Mesa. Developed by Gearbox Software and released in 1999, this expansion pack introduces new weapons, enemies, and environments while offering a fresh perspective on the Black Mesa incident.

3. Half-Life: Blue Shift (2001)

In Half-Life: Blue Shift, players step into the shoes of Barney Calhoun, a security guard working at the Black Mesa Research Facility. Released in 2001 as another expansion pack developed by Gearbox Software, Blue Shift provides a different viewpoint of the events preceding and during the resonance cascade, offering new insights into the Half-Life universe.

4. Half-Life 2 (2004)

Fast forward to 2004, and Valve delivers the highly anticipated sequel, Half-Life 2. Set in the dystopian City 17, the game follows Gordon Freeman as he joins the resistance against the oppressive Combine regime led by the mysterious G-Man. With its groundbreaking physics engine, compelling narrative, and memorable characters like Alyx Vance and Dog, Half-Life 2 sets a new standard for FPS gaming.

5. Half-Life 2: Episode One (2006)

Half-Life 2 Episode One (2006)

Continuing the story of Half-Life 2, Episode One picks up immediately after the events of the main game’s cliffhanger ending. Released in 2006 as the first in a trilogy of episodic sequels, this installment sees Gordon and Alyx working together to escape City 17 as it faces imminent destruction.

6. Half-Life 2: Episode Two (2007)

The saga continues in Episode Two, where players embark on a harrowing journey through the wilderness surrounding City 17. Released in 2007, this installment delves deeper into the struggle against the Combine forces while introducing new allies and enemies along the way.

7. Half-Life: Alyx (2020)

After over a decade of anticipation, Valve returns to the Half-Life universe with Half-Life: Alyx. Set between the events of Half-Life and Half-Life 2, this virtual reality (VR) title puts players in the role of Alyx Vance as she battles the Combine in a desperate quest to save her father. Praised for its immersive gameplay and innovative VR mechanics, Alyx reinvigorates the franchise for a new generation of players.


From its humble beginnings to its groundbreaking VR experience, the Half-Life series has captivated audiences with its gripping narrative, innovative gameplay, and unforgettable characters. Whether you’re a seasoned veteran or a newcomer to the franchise, exploring the Half-Life games in order offers a thrilling journey through one of gaming’s most iconic universes. So grab your crowbar, suit up, and prepare to dive into the immersive world of Half-Life!

Read Also