How To Watch The Marvel Movies In Order

Watching the Marvel movies in chronological order might appear to be a mammoth undertaking, given that there are 24 MCU movies to make your way through.

Indeed, the work ahead may appear overwhelming, but that is where we come in: this guide will provide you with an in-depth review of the MCU thus far, as well as the many viewing orders in which you may experience the ongoing series. We’ll discuss how to view Marvel movies in chronological order, in release date order, and the lesser-known spaghetti order.

Each part organizes the MCU history in an easy-to-follow style, allowing you to binge to your heart’s content. For a full timeline, you may also add the TV shows Loki, Wandavision, and The Falcon and The Winter Soldier.

Fortunately, it’s never been easier to see all of Marvel’s films in order, as Disney Plus features virtually every film, all of which are available in 4k.

Black Widow was just added to the streaming platform‘s outstanding lineup, which is currently available to watch from home for an extra Disney Plus Premier Access charge and will soon be available to everybody.

And now Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings has arrived in theatres, adding another film to Marvel’s repertoire that takes place specifically after Avengers: Endgame.

As shown in the Marvel Studios Celebrates the Movies trailer, there are several new Marvel films scheduled for release in the near future, including Marvel’s Eternals, Spider-Man: No Way Home, and Black Panther:

  • Forever Wakanda (8th July 2022) is yet to be released
  • The Miraculous (11th November 2022) is yet to be released
  • Quantumania: Ant-Man and the Wasp (17th February 2023) yet to be released
  • Vol. 3 of Guardians of the Galaxy (5th May 2023) is yet to be released

That does not include the highly anticipated Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness, Thor: Love and Thunder, or a brand-new Fantastic Four incarnation.

It’s not all about the movies, however; so far this year, Disney Plus has added three blockbuster Marvel series to its library – the genre-bending WandaVision, The Falcon and the Winter Soldier, and the high-concept Loki, which recently concluded (for details on the jaw-dropping Loki ending, check out our breakdown of the jaw-dropping Loki ending), with Ms. Marvel and Hawkeye on the way. Additionally, we have She-Hulk, Moon Knight, Armor Wars, Ironheart, and Secret Invasion in development.

For additional information on all of the above projects, be sure to check out our comprehensive guide to the future Marvel films and shows, which will ensure you don’t miss a thing.

With so many new additions on the way, the MCU timeline may become a bit confused. Still, there are two primary ways to view Marvel films in sequence: chronologically, beginning with Captain America: The First Avenger, or in release order, beginning with Iron Man. 

When it comes to the finest Marvel films in order, it’s entirely up to you; we like to watch things in the order in which they were released but always recommend giving chronological order a try at least once.

With Phase 4 well underway and Wandavision spearheading the effort, there is no better time to begin. We’ve listed all of your selections, so start your Marvel film marathon binge today.

Marvel Movies: How to watch Marvel movies in order

When the series is seen chronologically, it is really Captain America: The First Avenger that takes place first, during World War II, when a thin Steve Rogers receives his first dosage of the amazing Super Soldier Serum.

The most recent film in the chronological timeline is Spider-Man: Far From Home, released in 2019 but takes place in 2023 owing to the Endgame time leap.

According to some fans, this is the optimal way to watch the MCU films since components are added as the plot progresses — for example, this technique makes Nick Fury’s Infinity War appearance more rewarding, as viewers will already be familiar with the backdrop supplied by Captain Marvel.

However, there are instances where this is detrimental, such as in Ant-Man and the Wasp, which is set mainly before the events of Infinity War yet has a post-credits scene that spoils the epic crossover film’s ending.

The Marvel films are listed in chronological sequence, and that’s the right order to watch Marvel movies:

  • Captain America: The First Avenger (1942)
  • Captain Marvel (1995)
  • Iron Man (2010)
  • Iron Man 2 (2011)
  • The Incredible Hulk (2011)
  • Thor (2011)
  • The Avengers (2012)
  • Iron Man 3 (2012)
  • Thor: The Dark World (2013)
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy 2 (2014)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  • Ant-Man (2015)
  • Captain America: Civil War (2016)
  • Black Widow (2016)
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (2016)
  • Doctor Strange (2016-2017)
  • Black Panther (2017)
  • Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
  • Avengers: Infinity War (2017)
  • Ant-Man and the Wasp (2017)
  • Avengers: Endgame (2017-2022)
  • Spider-Man: Far From Home (2023)
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings (2023)

Both of the recently released Disney Plus episodes take place after the events of Far From Home, despite their order of release. The Falcon and the Winter Soldier was originally scheduled to be the service’s debut Marvel series but was delayed significantly owing to shooting disruptions caused by the COVID-19 epidemic.

Although WandaVision was released first, in the MCU’s history, The Falcon and the Winter Soldier are expected to appear first.

  • Loki (post-Endgame)
  • The Winter Soldier and the Falcon (2023)
  • WandaVision (2023)

MCU movies in order: Watching Marvel movies in release date order

If the chronological sequence seems too complex, you may alternatively watch in release order, which neatly divides the MCU plot into four separate “phases.”

The first three phases comprise what is now known as the Infinity Saga, which began with the introduction of the Avengers and concluded with the time-traveling mega-event that was Avengers: Endgame.

By following this technique, you’ll embark on the same trip as millions of Marvel fans worldwide, witnessing firsthand how the MCU evolved from a pretty grounded superhero film to an all-out space opera.

While watching in this manner will result in you seeing some events out of sequences within the universe, such as the origin of Captain America or the first encounter between Nick Fury and Captain Marvel, this will not result in any significant storyline issues.

The MCU begins with 2008’s Iron Man and continues through 2019’s Spider-Man: Far From Home, with many additional films set to be added later this year.

Conclusion: Watching Marvel movies in order

If you’re a Marvel fan, you might not need guidance. Still, watching the series in chronological order is daunting since there are so many MCU movies.

We hope this Marvel movies guide will be of great help to you. Thank you for reading!

Read also:

Categories: How-tos